📕 BOOK REVIEW 📕

Micah (Damage Control 1) by Jo Raven

image
•It’s not about owing. It’s about giving.
This is the 2nd time I’ve read Micah’s story. When I started to read it this time, it was just to refresh my memory to write a review, that I obviously forgot it write after reading it the first time. However, I just couldn’t stop turning page after page AGAIN! It was just like the first time I read it, even though I knew the ending I just had to keep reading through to the end! Now I have to finish reading the Damage Control series to see what happens to the rest of the Damage Boys, ok Hot, Sexy, Bad Boys! I loved the Inked Brothers series and am happy that Jo continued the brotherhood, they both flow well together. You do not have to read one to read the other, they’re their own stand alone, individual story about one of the brothers,but still flow together.(**Quotes from book**)
Ev was ran over by a motorcycle while on her jogging route, which was an excuse so she could check on the homeless to see if there was anything she could do to help. Until she was run over by a motorcyclist which resulted in a broken leg, **while checking on this young guy I ran across a few times, he was burning up with fever and coughing his lungs out. He could barely breathe. It looked like pneumonia. I called 9-1-1 and stayed to see that the ambulance arrived. His lips were blue, barely visible under his scraggly blond beard. As I held his too-thin hand and brushed stringy hair off his sunken face, I was scared they’d be too late.** **I never found out what happened to him. I’m afraid I lost him, too. That he died in that alley. In the end, I never even got his name, and now he’s most probably dead. He was my responsibility. I found him and then I let him down. Nobody seems to know what happened to him. He’s gone.** Even though she broke up with her ex, Blake before the accident, which he cannot comprehend. Her parents and brother are trying to pushing her to get back together with him. She doesn’t want to, he’s an ex for a reason, and she doesn’t trust him. But he’s the one who found her after her accident and called 911, so he’s a hero in her family’s eyes. **Using my pocket money to buy food and sometimes medicine for people who need it isn’t big spending. Pocket money indeed… It’s not like I’m taking anything away from anyone.** She wants to get her life back and help those in need, but Blake and her family think it’s too dangerous and they know what’s best for her. Blake tells her ** ‘Where will you find better than me?’ Blake had sneered at me. ‘You’re not getting any younger, Evangeline.’ Yeah, I’m so old. All of nineteen.‘Why can’t you think of your future? All you do is hang around homeless bums, and look where it got you.’ Where it got me? I honestly fail to see the connection between helping someone survive the night and getting run over by someone who shouldn’t even be allowed to drive. ****I need to get my life back. I need I find myself again. Blake is an ass, and I need him to leave me alone. So I’m ignoring his texts and calls, his taunts, and moving on. Really moving on.** **It’s not about owing. It’s about giving. About righting an injustice. About caring, something you’ll never understand in your life.** Will she be able to get her life back on track, to the way she wants it to be? Or will her family force her into a relationship she doesn’t want? Will she stand up for herself or just go along to make everyone else happy?
Micah grew up in the foster care system, he learned to trust no one because everyone leaves eventually. After running away and ending up, on the streets, he ended up sick. His memory is hazy from that time, but he remembers her face, the one who called the ambulance to save him But he’s not sure if it’s the same one coming to the shop across the street everyday. He’s pretty sure it’s her, Ev. **She saw me at my worst, and I want her to see me as I am today. Healthy. Strong. With a roof over my head and a steady income. With friends and a sort of family. And above all, I want to thank her for saving my life.** **Zane is my god. Everything I am now I owe to him. Although he’s younger than me by almost a year, he makes me feel good about myself, watched over, looked after. He’s like the older brother I never had.** **Zane is family. Plus, he taught me all I know. He saved me. Saved all of us who work in Damage Control: Shane, Ocean, Jesse and Seth. Sometimes I wonder if he realizes how much he means to us.** Damage Control, was everything to him, until he noticed her, he hasn’t seen her in more than 6 months, but he’d never forget her. He **was a wreck—too thin, too weak, too sick. Too far down to really get up. But I made it. I really want her to see that. I don’t give a shit about people’s opinion of me. They don’t know me. I don’t know them. Who the fuck cares? But she matters, because she was one of the few who really saw me when I was down and didn’t ignore me. I want to show her that her help amounted to something.**
But will Micah get up the courage to talk to her? Or will he continue to just watch her daily? Will Ev recognize him, will she even want to talk to him? **I was just a guy she was kind to, a guy spat out by the system and left to rot. I bet she never thought she’d see me around, either, a stain on her perfect life, just like I never thought our paths would cross again.** **I’ve put it off long enough. Tomorrow, I’m gonna cross the street and talk to her. Why the hell not? What do I have to lose? God knows I’ve learned by now that life is short, and you should do what you wanna do before it’s too damn late.**
This is a Standalone novel. No cliffhanger. You can read one or all…. But once you start, you’ll want to read all the Damage Boys stories! I’m off to read THE THINGS I NEVER SAID (A short epilogue to MICAH) by Jo Raven, then Jessie’s story (Damage Control Book 2). I rate this story with 5 stars! 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟
Due to explicit sexual content and adult language this novel is recommended for readers 17 and older.
* from book blurb*
MICAH is book 1 in the series Damage Control – a series set in the same world as Inked Brotherhood. The boys of Damage Control were taken in by Zane Madden and Rafe Vestri and offered apprenticeship and work in the tattoo shop Damage Control.
Next in the Damage Control series: Jesse, Seth, Shane and Ocean.
Book blurb

Meet the Damage Control Boys – set in the world of the bestselling series Inked Brotherhood. New Adult Contemporary Romance

Author note: this book was published in the Red Hot Alphas Boxed Set, so if you bought the boxed set, then you already own it.

There’s me: Micah Owens. Tattoo artist at Damage Control. No parents or siblings. A past that still gives me nightmares.
And then there’s her: Evangeline, the girl who saved my life and haunts my more pleasant dreams. Only she doesn’t know who I really am, and telling her might well send her fleeing for the hills. She deserves better than a loser like me. She’s pretty. She’s clever. She’s goddamn sexy and has a heart of gold.
Which is why I can’t tell her. A smile from her and I’ll do all I can to make her mine – including pretending to be someone I’m not, someone worth having.
Isn’t love weird?
Standalone novel. No cliffhanger.
*Warning: this book contains graphic language, sex, and violence. Mature readers only. Not intended for young readers.*

MICAH is book 1 in the series Damage Control – a series set in the same world as Inked Brotherhood. The boys of Damage Control were taken in by Zane Madden and Rafe Vestri and offered apprenticeship and work in the tattoo shop Damage Control.
Next in the Damage Control series: Jesse, Seth, Shane and Ocean.

Leave a Reply

