New Release/Review

Playing the Player (Sydney Smoke Rugby Series)
by Amy Andrews

Lincoln Quinn loves rugby, women, and poker. And he likes to win at all three. When his team mates bet him he can’t break through the resolve of uptight, but oh-so-sexy high school teacher, Em Newman, he’s more than up for the challenge. And Em is definitely that! Still, winning her over will be so very satisfying. Little does he guess that she’ll turn the tables on him, leaving him questioning everything he ever knew about love.

image
Review~

PLAYING THE PLAYER (Sydney Smoke Rugby Series) by Amy Andrews
• HOT 4.5🌟
Sometimes when you stop playing the game and take a step back, you actually figure out what you want out of life. And then live just seems to fall into place when you least expect it to. This was an exhilarating story to read. The chemistry that Em-a high school chemistry teacher and Linc-a support sexy professional rugby player had together from their very first meeting was of the charts! When they finally came together talk about spontaneous combustion! But he doesn’t believe in love or marriage which are the two things she wants most. Can she convince him she’s worth it, or will she have to walk away because she refuses to be another maybe? You’ll have to read PLAYING THE PLAYER (Sydney Smoke Rugby Series) to find out. If you like super steamy HEA”s then this is definitely a read for you. I voluntarily reviewed an ARC copy of this book via Entangled Publishing through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review., but I also purchased a copy. This book uses AU spellings and references. Due to explicit sexual content this novel is for readers 18 and older.
Amy Andrews ~ Playing The Player

RAMBLINGS OF A SPORTS INDIFFERENT

It may surprise you to know, as someone who is neck deep in writing an 8 book rugby series (and loving it) that I’m not much of a sports fan. I’d really rather read a book about sport romance than actually watch or participate in it – because kissing and stuff. If you put a gun to my head and asked me to choose a sport then it’d be cricket and I know that a large portion of the world doesn’t understand a game that goes for 5 days so I usually keep that under my hat.

But, like most people, I like to be entertained, I’m quite partial to watching buff, sweaty men in any kind of endeavour and an Olympic games medal ceremony always causes me to shed a tear (no matter which country has won).

I also believe in the power of sport to do good. To foster community spirit. And, at its most pure, to push us to be the best version of ourselves.

With that in mind, I’d like to share some unconnected ramblings on sports related things that I’ve liked or that have inspired me over the years.

Given how I’m eating up all things rugby at the moment and the fact I’m an Aussie, this one goes without saying – the Australian women’s rugby 7’s winning the gold medal in Rio was freaking awesome! https://www.youtube.com/watch? v=erBILfyxJA4

Not to be outdone, the Fijian rugby 7’s men took out their country’s first ever gold medal. I was already a little teary eyed over that and then they went and, one-by- one, kneeled before Princess Anne to receive their gold medals. Man, I needed a whole box of tissues watching such a display of breathtaking respect and humility! http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3735501/Rio-Olympics-2016-Fijian- rugby-players-kneel-respectfully-Princess-Anne-awards-gold-medal.html

I loved the television show, Friday Night Lights. I was hooked from the first ep of this awesome series. Now, being an Aussie, what I know about gridiron you can write on the back of a postage stamp. Yes, even if a post Jarryd Hayne world! But I soon realised it wasn’t really about gridiron at all. It’s about the dynamics of a small town and that I could totally get on board with. Plus, you know, Tim Riggins. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iBGRySnw5Sk

One of the best monologues ever in a movie was uttered by Kevin Costner in an 80’s (yes, I am that old) baseball movie called Bull Durham. Oh my. I’ll leave it here for you all to marvel at. Plus Susan Sarandon. https://www.youtube.com/ watch?v=A8W8GGdD6pc

Is there anyone out there who’s never seen the Rocky films with probably several of modern cinema’s most iconic training scenes? https://www.youtube.com/watch? v=I33u_EHLI3w

I bawled my eyes out during The Blind Side. Gridiron again but with a social message based on a true story. And Sandra Bullock https://www.youtube.com/ watch?v=76nhIfp9gr0

Another inspirational gridiron movie based on a true story and also about social change is Remember The Titans. Also Denzel Washington. I remember crying more than once or twice in this one too! https://www.youtube.com/watch? v=W1fObGRqArI

There are a lot of moments like these in international sport but this one hits me in all the feels https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7VfSbMh9gqU

And this one is awesome to the power of infinity. Channel 4 in the UK upping the stakes on sports advertising in this epic ad for their 2016 Paralympic team https:// http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IocLkk3aYlk

So yes, in real life, I am a sports indifferent. But between the pages of a sports romance? With all that he-man, hot-shot-jock, testosterone overload, all-for-one-and-one-for-all, smack talk in the locker room stuff? Sign me up

Leave a Reply

